Steamed Greens

As much as I’d like to be, I’m not a huge salad person. My German roots scream for big heavy, hot meals, so I’m always trying to find ways to eat my healthy greens and fool my mouth. Putting them on sandwiches is my favorite use, but I recently came across the concept of steaming greens. Supper easy, unique taste and texture. Just wash your greens and steam them at a full boil for 3-5 minutes. Top with any of the following:

-chopped preserved lemons, or just lots of lemon juice and salt

-butter and herbs

-oil-based salad dressing

-olive oil and chopped nuts

Leave a Reply

